• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

A Year in History: 2017

 
 
 
Evgenia Kulik, Director of HSE eLearning Office

Number of Students in HSE’s Online Coursera Classes Reaches 1 Million

Evgenia Kulik, Director of HSE eLearning Office


 

The Higher School of Economics began working with Coursera in 2014. Alongside the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology and Saint Petersburg State University, HSE was one of the first three Russian universities to put its courses on a global learning platform. We were pioneers in the creation of massive open online courses (MOOC) in Russia, which is why before launching our first courses we focused on and learned from the experience of leading Ivy League universities around the world.

HSE’s presence on Coursera is connected with the implementation of the university’s general social mission. Above all else, launching MOOC made HSE’s general courses in economics, sociology, and management accessible, and it turned the idea of equal access to a quality education into a reality. It was important to improve the international reputation of Russian education and promote the university’s brand. HSE’s MOOC were in demand among the platform’s Russian-speaking audience, and we treated them as contributing supporters of Russian-language learning and education.

When we started creating our first courses, certain HSE instructors had of course already had experience in creating online classes, but only within the campuses. The first course creators needed consultation, as they had to figure out how this format is unique and what it takes to organise instruction and grading when you have several thousand students. Both then and now we aim to offer the courses of our leading professors, experts, and researchers to the international audience. These are people who are highly sought after for any number of projects, so it can sometimes be problematic working with their schedule and we might not be able to design an online course as quickly as we’d like. Nonetheless, coming up with an online course is a new step in the careers of most instructors. As researchers, they are interested in trying their hand at a new venture and discovering new boundaries for their profession.

HSE’s first course on Coursera was called Financial Markets and Institutions and taught by Nikolay Berzon. This class still remains one of the most successful on Coursera in terms of number of students. Usually only 5%-8% of students finish a course on Coursera, but Nikolay’s class is unique because an average of 18% of students end up completing. When we launched the course, we received a large number of thank you letters with students saying that not only was there a high level of instruction, but the instructor had beautiful academic voice.

The Higher School of Economics is a top-5 university around the world by number of courses on Coursera. We offer students 77 online classes, 34 of which are taught in English. The number of students registered for HSE’s courses totals 1.2 million, which is a 32% increase compared to last year. In addition, 80% of our students are residents of foreign countries (30% for the Russian-taught courses and 95% for English-taught).

The Russian e-learning sector is important for HSE as well. In 2015 the university was one of the founders of the National Open Education Platform association alongside seven other top Russian schools. The project does more than just create high-quality Russian-language content for use by other universities; a network is formed among leading national and regional universities, and organisational, legal, and financial mechanisms are create to make online courses part of the academic process. We hope that as a result this greatly changes the entire market for higher education.

The university actively uses online courses in its own educational programmes as well. In the 2017-2018 academic year, 15% of disciplines’ academic plans are at least partially, if not entirely, taught online. HSE uses 37 of its own online courses, as well as courses developed by at least 45 other universities. Lastly, 11% of disciplines use the English-taught online courses.

Our future plans include continuing to build a pool of online courses and specialisations in English, as well as develop our network of Russian universities in the online learning sphere.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта


 
 
 
Евгения Кулик, директор по онлайн-обучению ВШЭ

Количество слушателей онлайн-курсов ВШЭ на Coursera достигло миллиона

Евгения Кулик, директор по онлайн-обучению ВШЭ


 

Сотрудничество ВШЭ и Coursera началось в 2014 году. Наряду с МФТИ и СПбГУ, Высшая школа экономики была одним из трех российских университетов, которые первыми разместили свои курсы на этой глобальной образовательной платформе. Мы были первопроходцами создания МООС в России, поэтому перед запуском наших первых курсов изучали опыт ведущих мировых вузов — университетов Лиги плюща — и ориентировались на них.

Для Вышки размещение курсов на Coursera связано с реализацией социальной миссии университета. Прежде всего, запуск MOOC дал сделал доступными базовые курсы Вышки по экономике, социологии, управлению и воплотить в жизнь идеи равного доступа к качественному образованию. Важным аспектом стало повышение международного авторитета российского образования в мире и продвижение бренда университета. MOOC Высшей школы экономики оказались востребованы русскоязычной аудиторией платформы, и мы относились к ним как к вкладу в поддержку образования и обучения на русском языке.

Когда мы начинали создавать первые курсы, у отдельных преподавателей Высшей школы экономики, конечно, был опыт создания онлайн-курсов, но внутрикампусных. Первым авторам требовались консультации, и нужно было разобраться, в чем специфика этого формата, в чем особенность организации обучения и оценивания, когда у вас несколько тысяч студентов. И тогда, и сейчас на глобальную международную платформу мы стремимся представить курсы наших ведущих профессоров, экспертов, исследователей. Это люди, крайне востребованные во многих проектах, поэтому иногда могут возникать сложности с согласованием графика, и создание онлайн-курса может происходить не так быстро, как нам хотелось бы. Тем не менее, для большинства преподавателей работа над курсом является новой ступенькой профессионализации: как исследователям им интересно попробовать себя в новой ипостаси и открыть новую грань в профессии.

Первым курсом Высшей школы экономики на Coursera стал курс Николая Иосифовича Берзона «Финансовые рынки и институты». Этот курс и на сегодняшний день остается одним из самых успешных на Coursera по вовлеченности слушателей: обычно обучение завершают 5–8% (это средние данные по платформе Coursera), а курс Николая Иосифовича уникальный, потому что его завершают в среднем 18 % слушателей. Когда мы запустили этот курс, то получили огромное количество благодарственных писем, в которых слушатели отмечали не только высокий уровень преподавания, но и благодарили, например, за красивую академическую речь преподавателя.

Сейчас Высшая школа экономики входит в топ-5 университетов мира по количеству курсов, размещенных на платформе Coursera. Мы предлагаем слушателям 77 онлайн-курсов, 34 из которых преподаются на английском языке. Количество зарегистрировавшихся на курсы Вышки на Coursera сейчас составляет 1,2 млн. человек, по сравнению с прошлым годом их число увеличилось на 32%. Причем, 80% слушателей наших курсов — это жители зарубежных стран (на русскоязычных курсах их 30%, а на англоязычных — 95%).  

Российский сектор онлайн-обучения для ВШЭ также значим, как и международный. В 2015 университет стал одним из учредителей ассоциации «Национальная платформа открытого образования» вместе с семью ведущими российскими вузами. В рамках этого проекта не просто создается качественный русскоязычный контент для использования в учебных планах вузов: в проекте отрабатываются схемы сетевого взаимодействия ведущих и региональных вузов, создаются организационные, правовые и финансовые механизмы включения онлайн-курсов в учебный процесс, и мы надеемся, что в итоге это сильно изменит весь рынок высшего образования.

Университета активно использует онлайн-курсы и в собственных образовательных программах. В 2017/18 учебном году 15% дисциплин учебного плана изучаются полностью или частично в онлайн-формате. НИУ ВШЭ использует 37 онлайн-курсов собственного производства, а также онлайн-курсы, разработанные как минимум 45 другими университетами. 11% дисциплин изучается в форме онлайн-курса на английском языке.

В наших ближайших планах — продолжить  формирование пула онлайн-курсов и специализаций на английском языке, а также развивать сетевое взаимодействие с российскими вузами в области онлайн-обучения.


В это время в стране и мире

 

Мнение экспертов не является выражением позиции университета