• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

A Year in History: 1999

 

A Year in History

1999

 
 
Tatyana Kravchenko, Professor

Module System Introduced

Tatyana Kravchenko, Professor, Dean of the Faculty of Economics in 1999


The module system at HSE was developed to optimize students’ study load during the entire academic year, as well as provide them with support through ongoing and interim assessments of their knowledge. Since there were no module prototypes for organizing the academic process, we were forced to experiment. The biggest challenge concerned how to put together individual academic plans, which greatly differ in structure from more traditional learning approaches. Our experiment started with the HSE Faculty of Economic Sciences and progressed through other departments.

Thanks to the establishment of the module system, the number of disciplines studied simultaneously was reduced to five or six. Furthermore, the number of lecture hours was reduced, while students’ time for independent study was increased to 60%, thereby allowing them to refine their study skills. With this in mind, a method was created to calculate students’ cumulative grades based on ongoing and interim assessments.

Early on, a typical schedule could include five modules. We later settled on a four-module system with two modules for the first semester and two more in the second. Also, winter and spring breaks were limited to holidays.

Overall, the module system has greatly enhanced students’ ability to study effectively through properly optimizing their academic load. As a result, separate disciplines are not studied at the same time, while there is a more equal distribution of learning assessments.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта


 
 
 
Татьяна Кравченко, профессор

Вводится модульная система обучения

Татьяна Кравченко, профессор, в 1999 году — декан факультета экономики


Модульная система была создана для того, чтобы оптимизировать загрузку студентов в течение всего учебного года и поддержать их активность с помощью текущих и промежуточных форм контроля знаний. Прообразов модульной системы организации учебного процесса не было, поэтому пришлось экспериментировать. Самая большая сложность заключалась в составлении учебных планов, которые по своей структуре существенно отличались от традиционных. Эксперимент начался с экономического факультета, затем подключились и другие.

В результате внедрения модульной системы число дисциплин, изучаемых одновременно, было сокращено до пяти-шести. Уменьшено число часов аудиторной работы и увеличены часы на самостоятельную работу студентов до 60%, чтобы у студентов вырабатывались навыки самоподготовки. Была внедрена методика расчета накопительной результирующей оценки на основе оценок текущего и промежуточного контроля.

Предварительно график учебного процесса включал в себя 5 модулей. Впоследствии остановились на системе из 4 модулей: 2 модуля в первом полугодии и 2 модуля — во втором. Зимние и весенние каникулы были приурочены к праздничным дням.

В целом можно сказать, что модульная система повысила качество подготовки студентов за счет оптимизации их загрузки; последовательного, а не параллельного изучения отдельных дисциплин; более равномерного распределения итогового контроля знаний.


В это время в стране и мире

 

Мнение экспертов не является выражением позиции университета