• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

A Year in History: 1996

 

A Year in History

1996

 
 

Higher School of Economics Opens Campus in Nizhny Novgorod

Lev Lubimov, HSE Deputy Academic Supervisor


In the winter of 1995-1996, the State Committee for Higher Education (Goskomvuz) received a letter from the governor of the Nizhny Novgorod region, Boris Nemtsov, requesting that the Higher School of Economics open a campus in Nizhny Novgorod. This letter was addressed to Evgeny Yasin, Russia’s former economics minister who also served as HSE’s academic supervisor. At Goskomvuz, the letter slipped passed the minister and instead went to the head of a committee division before going to a woman who ultimately responded to Nemtsov. In the reply, she said that the committee did not think it feasible for HSE to open a campus in Nizhny Novgorod since there was already an economics faculty at the city’s local agricultural university. Yasin, being very intelligent but quite busy, instructed me to handle this problem. I decided to start from the other end of the equation and traveled to Nizhny Novgorod after agreeing to meet with the rector of the city’s polytechnic school. The school had just built a new campus on the banks of the Volga, but the campus was empty. We agreed to barter – the school would give us a certain number of auditoriums, and in exchange we would teach five core classes for free.

From there, I went to Nemtsov and he agreed to sign a letter exactly the same as the last one so I could personally deliver it to Goskomvuz Chairman Vladimir Kinelev. Nemtsov signed it, and I took the letter to Kinelev in Moscow. The chairman listened to what I had to say and gave the letter to his first deputy of science Alexander Tikhonov, who later became the Senior Director of HSE MIEM. By the end of the day, I had gotten a license, and I took this license back to Nizhny Novgorod.

We organised a spot on the local TV networks, and I spent two days telling viewers about the Higher School of Economics’ opening on September 1. We named Gennady Yakshin the President of the Nizhny Novgorod campus.

We offered 50 state-financed spots for the group of students starting on September 1st, but we had gotten applications from 60 gold-medal recipients alone. We selected an incredible group of students and got to work. On September 13, 1996, Minister Yasin and his wife set off for Nizhny Novgorod in a special railroad car attached to Moscow-Nizhny Novgorod train. Accompanying him were Yaroslav Kuzminov, his wife Elvira Nabiullina, and myself. The next day, along with Boris Nemtsov, we held a grand opening in the assembly hall of Nizhny Novgorod State Technical University.

Two years later, by order of the Russian government, we received two buildings in the very centre of Nizhny Novgorod. These were production and laboratory buildings of the Radiophysical Research Institute (NIRFI), and to be honest, we had to put in a lot of work to get them ready for classes.

First we occupied our first ten auditoriums and starting having classes there. We also set up a library. Then we went from floor to floor, getting them all in order without spending a penny. We got dump trucks and hauled out 140 pieces of machinery, each piece weighing between five and 10 tonnes. Then I put together a supervisory board meeting headed by Boris Grischenko, the head of the Nizhny Novgorod branch of VTB Bank. The board was comprised of large local entrepreneurs. HSE helped out local business with consulting services, and businesses helped us with repairs.

In 1997, HSE opened up branch campuses in Perm and St. Petersburg, and in 2006 the Nizhny Novgorod and Perm campuses ranked first and second in a nationwide quality ranking of higher education. To this day, HSE’s campuses are still undisputed leaders in their regions.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Год в истории: 1996

 
 
 

Открылся кампус Высшей школы экономики в Нижнем Новгороде

Лев Любимов, заместитель научного руководителя ВШЭ


Зимой между 1995 и 96 годами в Госкомвуз пришло письмо от губернатора Нижегородской области Бориса Немцова с просьбой о создании филиала Высшей школы экономики в Нижнем Новгороде. Также письмо было адресовано Евгению Ясину, министру экономики и по совместительству научному руководителю ВШЭ. В Госкомвузе это письмо проскочило мимо председателя и отправилось к одному из начальников управлений, а оттуда — к одной очень странной даме. Она написала Немцову ответ, что Госкомвуз не считает целесообразным открытие филиала Вышки в Нижнем Новгороде, потому что там уже есть экономический факультет какого-то сельскохозяйственного вуза. Ясин, будучи человеком очень интеллигентным и занятым, поручил мне разобраться с этой проблемой. Я решил начать с другого конца и поехал в Нижний, предварительно договорившись о встрече с ректором местного Политеха. Политеху построили новый кампус на берегу Волги, корпуса которого пустовали. Мы договорились с ним на бартер — он нам даст какое-то количество аудиторий, а мы ему взамен бесплатно будем читать пять основных курсов.

А дальше я пошел к Немцову. Договорились, что он подпишет еще одно точно такое же письмо, и я его передам лично председателю Госкомвуза Владимиру Кинелеву. Он подписал, я с этим письмом поехал в Москву, к Кинелеву. Кинелев меня выслушал и передал письмо своему первому заму по науке Александру Николаевичу Тихонову, позже ставшему директором МИЭМ ВШЭ. К концу дня я получил лицензию и с этой лицензией поехал назад в Нижний.

Мне организовали на местных телеканалах эфир. Я два дня сидел и рассказывал телезрителям о том, что с 1 сентября в Нижнем будет Высшая школа экономики. Директором филиала мы назначили Якшина Геннадия Александровича.

1 сентября на 50 бюджетных мест, которые мы выделили для Нижнего Новгорода, у нас только золотых медалей было 60 штук. Мы отобрали очень хороший состав умных деток и начали работать. 13 сентября 1996 года министр Ясин со своей женой в министерском спецвагоне, прицепленном к нижегородскому поезду, отправился туда. С ними был Ярослав Кузьминов с женой Эльвирой Набиулиной и я. На следующий день у нас состоялось торжественное открытие в актовом зале нижегородского Политеха с участием Бориса Немцова.

Два года спустя постановлением Правительства России нам передали два здания в самом центре Нижнего Новгорода. Это были производственно-лабораторные корпуса Нижегородского института радиофизических исследований, и, честно говоря, нам пришлось серьезно потрудиться, чтобы подготовить их для образовательного процесса.

Сначала заселили первый десяток аудиторий — начали там учить, подготовили библиотеку. А дальше этаж за этажом приводили в порядок без копейки денег. Мы вывезли оттуда на самосвалах 140 станков от 5 до 10 тонн каждый. Позже я собрал попечительский совет во главе с Борисом Грищенко, руководителем нижегородского отделения банка ВТБ. В него вошли крупные местные предприниматели. Вышка помогала бизнесу в части консалтинга, а бизнес помогал нам с ремонтом.

В 1997 году открылись филиалы в Перми и в Питере. А в 2006 году Нижегородский и Пермский филиалы заняли 1 и 2 места на всероссийском конкурсе качества высшего образования. Нравится это кому-то или нет, филиалы Вышки сегодня — лидеры высшей школы в своих регионах.


В это время в стране и мире

 

Мнение экспертов не является выражением позиции университета