• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site


 

A Year in History

2003

 
 
Lev Lubimov, HSE Deputy Academic Supervisor

Board of Tenured Professors Founded

Lev Lubimov, HSE Deputy Academic Supervisor


In pre-revolutionary Russia, an ‘ordinary professor’ was the highest non-administrative position at a university. A professor with this title also became a state counsellor, which is the fifth highest-ranking position among the 14 possible. Today, this position does not exist in Russia – not at HSE or any other university. The idea behind the position resurfaced at the end of 1995 when Yaroslav Kuzminov suggested that the university introduce the title of ‘tenured professor,’ which is an ordinary position in the Anglo-Saxon education tradition. It signifies that an instructor with a PhD has the right to teach at a university until officially retiring. If a PhD holder has not received tenure by the age of 33-35, he or she typically leaves a university. Tenure is the norm in places like the U.S. and Canada.

At HSE, a tenured professor was initially a hybrid between tenure and another western concept – professor emeritus. But over the last 6-8 years, Kuzminov would always suggest introducing young specialists into this category, which is the right thing to do. In 1995, the introduction of the status of tenured professor was a signal for everyone who wanted to receive a guarantee of their stability within HSE – status, pay, and more. And today, this is an important factor for many. Additionally, the status is not given to administrative staff.

The first tenured professors at the university included RAS academic Revold Entov, a renowned economist who has served as the academic advisor for dozens of PhD candidates; Ovsey Shkaratan, the creator of one of Russia’s main schools of sociology; Emil Ershov, a famous specialist in the field of mathematical economics and the former deputy director of the Central Economic Mathematical Institute; and Rustem Nureyev, HSE’s first vice rector in 1993-1995 and a Doctor of Economic Sciences.

This title is given for serious achievement in both research and teaching, as prescribed by the Tenured Professor Policy. Further, the Board of Tenured Professors was created mainly to provide this elite community with an institution that could be used for professors to express their opinions and propose solutions to problems at HSE. In addition, the Board allows for HSE’s leadership to hear expert opinions from the university’s best.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Год в истории: 2003

 
 
 
Лев Любимов, заместитель научного руководителя ВШЭ

Образована коллегия ординарных профессоров

Лев Любимов, заместитель научного руководителя ВШЭ


В дореволюционной России ординарный (обычный) профессор был высшей неадминистративной должностью в университетах. Ее носитель часто становился статским советником — это пятый сверху ранг в табели с 14 рангами. Сегодня этой должности в России нет ни в одном университете, только в Вышке. Предложил ее в конце 1995 года Ярослав Иванович Кузьминов, имея в виду идею теньюра (tenure) — обычного в англо-саксонской университетской традиции статуса преподавателя  с правом пожизненного найма до официального пенсионного срока, если у него была степень PhD. Как правило, если обладатель этой степени не получал теньюр до 33-35 лет, он покидал университет. То есть теньюры — это норма «там», в США, Канаде.

В Вышке ординарный профессор сначала был гибридом идеи теньюра и еще одной зарубежной идеи — заслуженного профессора (emeritus). Но в последние 6-8 лет Кузьминов постоянно предлагает вводить в эту категорию молодых специалистов, и это правильно. В 1995 году введение статуса ординарного профессора стало сигналом для всех, кто хотел получить гарантии своего стабильного существования в Вышке — статус, зарплата и так далее.  И сегодня этот фактор имеет важное значение для многих. При этом такой статус не предоставляется административным работникам.

Первыми ординарными профессорами стали академик РАН Револьд Энтов (крупный экономист, вырастивший десятки докторов, кандидатов наук и PhD), Овсей Шкаратан — создатель одной из основных школ социологии в России, Эмиль Ершов — крупный специалист в области математической экономики (бывший заместитель директора ЦЭМИ АН СССР), Рустем Нуриев — первый проректор ВШЭ в 1993-1995 годах, профессор, доктор экономических наук.

Это звание дается за серьезные академические заслуги как в науках, так и в образовательной деятельности, которые прописаны в Положении об ординарных профессорах. А коллегия была создана, чтобы, во-первых, предоставить этому элитному сообществу институцию, где оно могло бы высказать свои мнения и предложения по проблемам деятельности Вышки, и, во-вторых, чтобы руководство Вышки могло это высокое экспертное мнение выслушать.


В это время в стране и мире

 

Мнение экспертов не является выражением позиции университета